COUNCIL MEETING 20th May, 2022

Present:- Councillor Jenny Andrews (in the Chair); Councillors Alam, Allen, Atkin, Aveyard, Bacon, Baker-Rogers, Ball, Barker, Beck, Bennett-Sylvester, Bird, Brookes, Browne, Burnett, A Carter, C Carter, Clark, T. Collingham, Z. Collingham, Cooksey, Cowen, Cusworth, Elliott, Ellis, Fisher, Haleem, Havard, Hoddinott, Jones, Keenan, Khan, Lelliott, McNeely, Mills, Monk, Pitchley, Read, Reynolds, Roche, Sansome, Sheppard, Tarmey, Taylor, Tinsley, Wilson, Wooding, Wyatt and Yasseen.

The webcast of the Council Meeting can be viewed at: https://rotherham.public-i.tv/core/portal/home

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Resolved:- That Councillor Tajamal Khan be elected Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover:- Councillor Read Seconder:- Councillor Allen

Councillor Khan thereupon made and subscribed the statutory declaration of acceptance of office.

(Councillor Khan assumed the Chair)

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR (COUNCILLOR JENNY ANDREWS)

Resolved:- That the Council tender its sincere thanks to Councillor Jenny Andrews for the excellent manner in which she has carried out all her duties as Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham. And that the best thanks of this Council be recorded for the kind and admirable way in which Mrs. Jeanette Mallinder performed the duties of Mayoress and her exceptional support during the three years.

Mover:- Councillor Roche Seconder:- Councillor Pitchley

3. PRESENTATION OF THE PAST MAYOR'S PENDANTS

The Mayor asked the Council to join him in offering his sincere thanks to Councillor Jenny Andrews for the excellent manner in which she had carried out all of her duties as Mayor and formally presented her and the Mayoress with their past Mayor's pendants.

4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Resolved:- That Councillor Robert Taylor be elected Vice-Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover:- Councillor Pitchley Seconder:- Councillor Keenan

5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors Barley, Baum-Dixon, Castledine-Dack, Griffin, Hughes, Hunter, Thompson and Whomersley.

6. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest to report.

7. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADETS

The Mayor formally announced the names of the Mayor's Cadets for the Municipal Year 2022/23 to the Council:-

- Air Force Cadets Sergeant Abigail Fawdry
- Army Cadets Cadet Courtney Martin
- Sea Cadets Cadet 1st Class Brooke Matthewman

Cadet Courtney Martin and Cadet 1st Class Brooke Matthewman were continuing in their role of Mayor's Cadet having been appointed at the Council meeting in November 2021.

The Mayor invited Sergeant Fawdry to receive her Mayor's Cadet badge and certificate.